Interview with Benjamin Zander

This is a short post. I came across this interview with Benjamin Zander for the School Band & Orchestramagazine (Dec. 2010), and I wanted to share it with others. Zander is the conductor of the Boston Philharmonic Orchestra and the New England Conservatory Youth Orchestra. He is also the artistic director at the Walnut Hill School for the Arts (Natick, Mass.). I think he is a great educator.

Just follow the link below:

The Irrefutable Power of Music

I have also posted in this blog a great video with one of his presentations on music and passion. The posting can be found at
https://paulomusic.wordpress.com/2010/09/20/benjamin-zander-on-music-and-passion/

 

About paulomusic

I'm a musician at heart with a passion for playing and for musical instruments. I used to play the oboe professionally for many years but stopped when I started a PhD in educational psychology. Now, I want to bring the music back to my life and also share some ideas about it.
This entry was posted in Article, Interview and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Benjamin Zander

  1. cooperwrightreeds says:

    My very first reading session when I arrived at NEC was with Zander conducting Mahler 6. What an inspirational experience. I will never forget him screaming “LOUDER” as the poor percussionist banged on the timpani crate as loud as he could to get the “3 strokes of fate” theme out. I’d pay $100 to be able to play a Mahler symphony under him again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

