Music as a language – Victor Wooten

I came across this video (the first one) by chance, and it called my attention. Victor Wooten’s ideas reflect well what I think about learning how to “speak in music.” He is a spectacular bass player but he has also a great wisdom as an educator.

Here is the video’s description:

Music is a powerful communication tool–it causes us to laugh, cry, think and question. Bassist and five-time Grammy winner, Victor Wooten, asks us to approach music the same way we learn verbal language–by embracing mistakes and playing as often as possible.

After some clicking on the links, I found Wooten’s full presentation of his ideas at a TEDx event. It is worth watching the whole video.

About paulomusic

I'm a musician at heart with a passion for playing and for musical instruments. I used to play the oboe professionally for many years but stopped when I started a PhD in educational psychology. Now, I want to bring the music back to my life and also share some ideas about it.
Video | This entry was posted in Musician, Presentation, Video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

