SASO – Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto

This is a long overdue post. After having graduated last December (2013) with my PhD in Educational Psychology, I’ve been enjoying some guilty-free music playing and ended up not keeping up with my blog. Well, I am back and I’ll try to post more often as my musical adventures lead the way.

On November 2013, I had the opportunity to play the first oboe part on one of the Southern Arizona Symphony Orchestra’s concerts. It just happened that this particular concert was recorded in video and on a CD. The video that was posted on YouTube was the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major. This happens to be my favorite violin concerto and I am glad I had the chance to play it. So, I am reposting here its three movements. The amazing soloist is Edwin E. Soo Kim.

In addition to this concerto, one other piece that we played, among others, was John Rutter’s Mass of the Children, composed in 2003. I didn’t know this composition before we played it, but I was very impressed by it. Unfortunately, its video was not posted on YouTube, but other ensembles have posted it. It is an incredible piece worth listening to.

Without further ado, here is the Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto.

About paulomusic

I'm a musician at heart with a passion for playing and for musical instruments. I used to play the oboe professionally for many years but stopped when I started a PhD in educational psychology. Now, I want to bring the music back to my life and also share some ideas about it.
This entry was posted in Concert, Orchestra, Performance, Recording, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

