Telemann – Canonical Sonata I

Another video just out of the oven. I was a little bit in a hurry when I recorded this piece, but I am very happy with the result.

This short sonata composed by G. P. Telemann is the first in a set of 6 canonical sonatas (TWV 40: 118-123). They were first published in 1738. Each sonata is written as a two-voice canon, and was originally composed for 2 flutes or 2 violins. It has since then been arranged for different instruments. I play it here with 2 oboes.

The set of sonatas is also found under the titles 18 Canons Mélodieux or 6 Sonates en Duo (each sonata has three movements).  The Sheet music can be found at
http://imslp.org/wiki/18_Canons_Mélodieux,_TWV_40:118-123_(Telemann,_Georg_Philipp)

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) – Canonical Sonata I, TWV 40: 118
1. Vivace
2. Adagio
3. Allegro

 

About paulomusic

I'm a musician at heart with a passion for playing and for musical instruments. I used to play the oboe professionally for many years but stopped when I started a PhD in educational psychology. Now, I want to bring the music back to my life and also share some ideas about it.
This entry was posted in Oboe, Recording, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment