Eccard – Der Tag, der is so freudenreich

Here is a short piece that I recorded this past week. It was written by Johannes Eccard (1553-1611) for 3 sopranos and 1 alto voices. I am playing here a transcription for 3 oboes and 1 English horn (I play all instruments in the recording). The sheet music for it can be found at:

http://imslp.org/wiki/Der_Tag_der_ist_so_freudenreich_(Eccard,_Johannes)

Since I don’t speak German, I didn’t know at the time of the recording, but this is a Christmas Chorale. Oh well, here goes a little early this year…

 

About paulomusic

I'm a musician at heart with a passion for playing and for musical instruments. I used to play the oboe professionally for many years but stopped when I started a PhD in educational psychology. Now, I want to bring the music back to my life and also share some ideas about it.
This entry was posted in English horn, Oboe, Recording, Video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment